top of page
  • Open Space

Health in minimalism



We can somewhat agree that one of the most important things in our life is health. Some point in life, you’d look up on the internet, searching for better ways to “be healthy” or “eat healthy”. However, the truth is there is no model answer for this. Everyone has their own method, where one works for some them might not probably work not for you; and in this society where we’re often instilled with the idea that more is better, people tend to overdo things.


We often think that it’s “not enough” - not good enough, not frequent enough, not healthy enough. Diet-wise and exercise-wise, don’t let it end up costing you your health when you’re practising to be healthy. Most importantly, being healthy is not about limiting yourself from any enjoyment, it can and it should be something enjoyable.


Push aside the things you saw in advertisements and shows, greens are good but we don’t have to drastically change our diet into all greens (protein and carbohydrates are still important!) Just give it a slight twist, starting with small steps.


For me, I’ve said goodbyes to processed food in my meals, replacing my sausages and canned luncheon meat with chicken and fish when I cook. Next, I’ve set goals to reduce my intake of bread. Minimalism is about focusing on what matters most to you, so think about what you’d like to change in your diet, since you’re doing it for yourself. Don’t pressure yourself, do it one step at a time and give yourself time to get used to the changes, ain’t that hard, right?


Put away your phone when you see your friends are hitting the gym, and you’re feeling that you’re not doing enough exercise. See, it’s the “not enough” again. Minimalism is about focusing on your priorities. Your friend might be going after a good physique, but if you just want to be in shape and feel that 1-2 hours a day in the gym is too time-consuming for you, sweep away your fear of not being good enough. We’re here to assure you, doing it in your way is already sufficient: a 30-minute quick walk everyday with your dog, family, friends, or even alone, where you’d also be able to have quality time for yourself or your loved ones. Then, you can have the rest of the time for other things deemed important for you.


I’d been there - I used to organize running challenges with my friends, and we would run more and more miles after each month, but the more I ran, the more I realised I was not enjoying the activity at all, and I’d rather use my time spent on fulfilling the running goals for other things. So, we stopped setting crazy goals and just followed our hearts. Now, when I don’t have to rush back home after work and the weather’s lovely, I’d ditch the crammed subway and go for a 35-minute walk back home along the harbour to feel the sea breeze. It’s a good way for me to relax and clear my mind, and I’ve always felt great after the walk, reaching my doorstep lightheartedly.


After all, being minimalistic is knowing how much is just enough and understanding your priorities so that you can better enjoy your life.


留言


bottom of page